I am often times amazed that the amount of smoke that companies blow up car dealer’s tail pipes when it comes to search engine optimization. After speaking with a dealer I work with the other day I was absolutely amazed at some of the techniques

that certain companies claim will increase their rankings on Google. Without going into too much detail I can assure you that the strategies being presented to this particular dealer were of ZERO benefit. At any rate they did leave an impression in my dealer’s mind which did take some work to remove in order to get them thinking in the right direction again.

The simple fact of the matter is that there is really no mystery as to how Google goes about ranking websites. In fact they even go out of there way and publish exactly what you can do to help get your website to rank higher in the rankings (you can find more on that here: http://www.google.com/support/webmasters/bin/answer.py?answer=35769). By doing the right things over and over again you will begin to see positive results. I understand the urgency to achieve a top ranking for all of your targeted keywords; after all you have spent a lot of time and money getting your website where it is today. I cannot urge you enough to remain focused and play by the rules as you will be on the path to longer lasting results.

